How long does divorce take in Michigan?

Many clients wonder how long it takes to finalize a divorce in Michigan.  Of course, it depends on the facts of the case, the issues in the case, the court’s calendar and procedures.   State law requires a period of at least 60 days from the filing of the Complaint for Divorce to Entry of the Judgment of Divorce. For marriages with children under the age of 18, the waiting period is 180 days from the time of filing. This waiting period can be waived under certain circumstances. There is no way to predict how long a divorce will take at the time of filing and some cases with children may take a full year or even longer. Click here to speak to an attorney about your case.

Scroll to Top